top of page

Scientist of the Year

Congratulations to the 2020 SA Scientist of the Year finalists.

Professor Emily Hilder

University of South Australia

Professor Emily HiIder is the Director of the University of South Australia 's Future Industries Institute (FII). She is also Deputy Director of the ARC Research Hub for Integrated Device for End-user Analysis at Low Level (IDEAL).


Professor Hilder is a world leading analytical chemist who has pioneered disruptive approaches to chromatography, microsampling, blood analysis, explosives detection and biopharmaceutical analysis. This has led to commercial and field adoption including chromatography advances for protein analysis, DNA purification and ion analysis and materials for microsampling.


Her supportive leadership and collaborative approach has underpinned her success and brought together industry, government, researchers and students to focus on tomorrow's solutions.


Professor Timothy Hughes

​South Australian Health and Medical Research Institute (SAHMRI), The University of Adelaide

Professor Timothy Hughes is the Precision Medicine Theme Leader at SAHMRI and Consultant Haematologist at the Royal Adelaide Hospital. Professor Hughes is an international expert in the biology and treatment of leukaemia and is internationally recognised for his pioneering work in improving diagnoses and therapies for blood cancers.

Through a combination of strategically positioned national and international clinical trials, scientific studies, and strong collaborations with pharma and trial groups, his team has made discoveries that have revolutionised chronic myeloid leukaemia (CML) monitoring and management globally.


Professor Hughes was a leader on the landmark studies that established the dramatic survival benefit of tyrosine kinase inhibitor (TKI) therapy in CML. Furthermore, he led the global studies demonstrating the pivotal role that molecular monitoring plays in optimizing response in CML.

Professor Sharad Kumar

University of South Australia

Professor Sharad Kumar AM holds a Research Professorship of Cell Biology and a Chair of Cancer Biology at the University of South Australia. He has made pioneering discoveries in biomedical sciences through the study of “programmed cell death” and “cellular maintenance”, critical determinants of health and disease.


His work has led to major advances in identifying the causes of cancer, hypertension, inflammation and kidney disease, paving the way for their better treatments. Highly acclaimed internationally he has mentored many prominent students and scientists and has helped bring substantial research and infrastructure funding to South Australia.


In 2009 he co-founded the Centre for Cancer Biology (CCB), a leading medical research institute in Australia, which he co-directed from April 2009 to February 2020.


Professor Colin Raston

Flinders University

Professor Colin Raston is a highly recognised and prolific researcher and is South Australian Premier's Professorial Research Fellow in Clean Technology, currently Professor of Clean Technology at Flinders University.

Since pioneering Australia’s green chemistry movement in the 1990s, he has continued to focus on green chemistry and clean technology with research aimed at devising environmentally friendly alternatives to toxic chemicals processing. He invented the vortex fluidic device, which earned international recognition and the research informing its creation and chemical process resulted in the establishment of a new science.

Professor Raston has commercialised his research, establishing successful spin-out companies 2D Fluidics and Hazer Group (ASX listed in 2015). In 2016, he was recognised for his outstanding achievement by appointment to the Office of the Order of Australia. In 2018, he was elected as a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science

  • White Twitter Icon
  • White LinkedIn Icon
bottom of page