top of page

2022 Winners

South Australian Scientist of the Year


Professor Maria Makrides

Leads one of the premier research centres at the forefront of mother-infant nutrition research in the world, leading a large, multidisciplinary team of more than 70 staff and students.

Professor Maria Makrides.png

Innovator of the Year sponsored by Novatech


Professor Andre Luiten

Professor Luiten’s leading work and strategic leadership is helping shape South Australia as a hub for photonics and quantum innovation.

Professor Andre Luiten.png

PhD Research Excellence 


Dr Chelsea Thorn

Dr Thorn’s PhD discovered a new inhalable and topical formulation to improve the effectiveness of antibiotics against life-threating super-bugs.

Dr Chelsea Thorn.png

STEMM Educator of the Year – Primary or Secondary School Teaching sponsored by Commonwealth Bank and Telstra


The Trinity College SPARK Program is a future-oriented STEM curriculum, at the forefront of STEM education and are leading educational innovation throughout South Australia.

The SPARK Team.png

STEMM Educator of the Year – University or RTO Teaching sponsored by Commonwealth Bank and Telstra


Dr Richard Lilly

Dr Lilly co-founded and leads the successful National Exploration Undercover School (NExUS) at The University of Adelaide, which aims to provide advanced training for the most promising young geoscientists in Australia.

Dr Richard Lilly.png

Excellence in Science and Industry Collaboration 


Driving Australia's Blue Bioeconomy

The Centre for Marine Bioproducts (CMBD) works collaboratively with South Australian industry to transform sustainable materials into high-value products such as medicines, biodegradable plastics, bio-inks, nutrition drinks, and eco-friendly fertilisers.

Driving Australias Blue Bioeconomy.png
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White LinkedIn Icon
bottom of page