2018 Winners

South Australian Scientist of the Year


Professor Richard Hillis, globally recognised geologist, former Chief Executive Officer of Deep Exploration Technologies CRC and Adjunct Professor at the Australian School of Petroleum, University of Adelaide.

PhD Research Excellence sponsored by University of Adelaide

Dr Katharina Richter, PhD in novel treatments to fight antibiotic-resistant bacteria, University of Adelaide

STEM Educator of the Year – School Teaching sponsored by Department for Education


Ms Sue O’Malley, Head of Robotics and teacher of multimedia, mathematics, and digital technology, and Senior Leader, Trinity College Senior

STEM Educator of the Year – Tertiary Teaching sponsored by Finders University


Dr Justin Chalker, Senior Lecturer, School of Chemical and Physical Sciences, Flinders University

Excellence in Research Collaboration sponsored by University of South Australia


The Aboriginal Heritage Project, partnership between the local members of the Aboriginal community, the SA Museum, the University of Adelaide, the University of New South Wales

STEM Professional


Professor Zbigniew Michalewicz, Chief Scientist and Co-founder of Complexica, which specialises in sales optimisation software based on Artificial Intelligence

Tall Poppy of the Year

Dr Benjamin Sparkes, Lecturer in Photonics, The University of Adelaide

Unsung Hero of SA - Science


Ms Jan Bell Australian Centre for Antimicrobial Resistance Ecology, The University of Adelaide



Unsung Hero of SA - Science Communication


Dr Liz Reed, Vertebrate Palaeontologist, The University of Adelaide