• Inspire future generations to become involved in science and innovation

  • Recognition for research and education to take place in South Australia

2020 key dates

  • 22 May - Nominations close

  • June - Judging

  • August - Finalists announced

  • 12 Feb 2021– Award Celebration

About the awards

The SA Science Excellence and Innovation Awards showcases the critical importance of science, research and innovation to the development of industry and society as a whole.

The Awards provide a remarkable opportunity to recognise the work of inspiring Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics and Medicine (STEMM) leaders and teams working in research and education institutions, schools, industry and the community.

The Awards are a significant occasion in South Australia’s science calendar and are recognised as the premier science showcase event highlighting the diversity of scientific endeavour and research in this State.

The research I do is also highly diverse, across disciplines, time zones and geographic or state and national boundaries. It is global in its nature as well as in its impact.

Professor Jozef Gecz

Winner of the 2019 South Australian Scientist of the Year Award

Award prizes

The South Australian Scientist of the Year and the South Australian Innovator of the year will receive a prize to the value of $25,000.

The winners of the remaining categories will receive a prize to the value of $10,000 to use towards their career development.


All winners receive a trophy designed and produced by the Jam Factory and recognised as ambassadors of science at the state level. 


What has COVID taught us?

In this special COVID-19 film, the 2020 SA Science Excellence and Innovation Awards finalists discuss the complex realities of a pandemic response and what the COVID-19 experience has taught us.

2020 Awards sponsored by